top of page

Interview with Me, Queen Meg

So I feel a little silly interviewing myself but here we go...

1) Tell us a little bit about yourself.

After living in Colorado, Texas, and Illinois before age four, my family finally settled in Maryland outside of Washington, D.C. and we have been here ever since! I can't picture living anywhere else now. I live in a very old house in the Maryland suburbs with my husband, identical twin daughters, and two very curious cats named Totoro and Winston. I work in D.C. and run a little book blog called A Bookish Affair on the side. In my free time, I love to travel, garden, hike, and read.

I have always loved historical fiction. The American Girls and Little House on the Prairie books got me started. I found out about the Historical Novel Society a few years ago after attending a author talk by a few of our HNS Chessie authors (Stephanie Dray, Sophie Perinot, and Kate Quinn). I am delighted to be a part of the group now and am honored to be named queen.

2) What do you write?

I dabble but have no designs on publishing ever!

3) If you could live in any time period, when would you live and why?

As a lady, I think I have it pretty darn good now as compared to other times in history. If I could be totally rich, I'd live in the 1920s in a stunning mansion with stunning clothes and a massive jewelry collection.

4) What’s the last great historical fiction book that you have read.

Super difficult. I really enjoyed Amy Snow by Tracy Rees recently!

5) What are some of your favorite historical fiction books that you have ever read?

Another difficult question. There are so many! I love "Memoirs of a Geisha" by Arthur Golden and "The Nightingale" by Kristin Hannah. There are also a ton of authors on my must-read list, some of them are members of our illustrious club :)

6) If you could bring any three historical figures with you to a deserted island, who would you bring and why?

Teddy Roosevelt - He's my favorite President and with as much as he liked to explore, he'd turn our stranding into a great adventure.

Elizabeth I - A fellow redhead with smarts to boot? Sign me up! I feel like we'd have a lot to talk about as we pass the time on our island (which hopefully has a lot of shade to protect our gingery skin)!

Leonardo Da Vinci - He would be so fascinating to talk to and if we got tired of being stranded, he could probably whip together an invention to whisk us back home!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page