top of page

Interview with Greer Macallister

1. What will you be talking about at the conference?

My topic is “Untold American Stories,” with fellow author Stephanie Dray, agent Kevan Lyon, and editor Anna Michels. We’re focusing on how you use lesser-known American figures to create rich stories that also have an educational component – what don’t we know about our own history? What could we learn from these untold stories, and how do you know if you’re the right person to tell them?

2. What inspired you to come up with this topic?

My latest novel is about Kate Warne, the first female detective in the United States. She was hired by Allan Pinkerton as a Pinkerton operative in the 1850s, and she did brilliant things – went undercover to catch crooks, ran a whole squad of female detectives, helped save Abraham Lincoln’s life, served as a Union spy during the Civil War – and yet most people have never heard her name. There have to be dozens if not hundreds of these untold stories from American history. I wanted to encourage writers to find and tell them. And I pulled together a panel with representation from editors and agents to talk about their perspectives as well.

3. What other panels or events are you looking forward to seeing at the conference?

There are so many! I’m particularly excited about the Saturday night Regency Ball, because who doesn’t love a good costume party? “Putting the Her in History” is right up my alley, and I think Isobel Carr’s workshop on accurate historical clothing will be fabulous. Getting the opportunity to talk to someone who actually has experience dressing in the clothes we’re describing usually isn’t possible, so I’m really looking forward to that.

4. Who are you looking most forward to seeing at the conference?

Kristina McMorris is not only a brilliant, talented author, she’s also a great friend, and since we live on opposite coasts I haven’t seen her in ages. Plus she’s doing presentations on book promotion on a budget and using primary sources for research, two things any author can benefit from learning more about.

5. What are you most looking forward to doing in Portland?

I can’t go to Portland without stopping by Voodoo Doughnuts for a maple-bacon bar. It’s just not possible. Last time it was my first stop on the way from the airport. The rest of the itinerary is TBD, but the doughnut is a must.

6. If you could bring any three historical figures with you to a deserted island, who would you bring and why?

Great question! And a tough one, too. Well, I’d love to hang out with the real Kate Warne and hear what her life was actually like, since I’ve spent so much time with the fictional version of her. Ditto Adelaide Herrmann, who was the first famous female magician in America, and wrote a memoir that I barely believe a single word of – I’ve got some follow-up questions to ask that one. Who could round out the trio? Mae West, I think. I like her style.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page